Basecamp vs Wrike: Wrike fits most teams of 5 Start here: Wrike
Marketing teams, creative agencies, IT and product development teams
Our pick for most teams
/ 100
Price From $120/user/yr (yearly only)
Free plan Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated vs / 100
Price From $25/mo (monthly only)
Free plan Free account: 1 project, 1 GB storage, up to 5 users Add more tools to this comparison Compare a different set
Which one fits your team Checked 2026-10-14 2 sources The score is worked out from the facts below. How we score tools . What we earn is not part of it.
Wrike: who it fits and who it does not Good for Marketing teams, creative agencies, IT and product development teams Large teams needing comprehensive project management Not for Small startups and budget-conscious teams Freelancers and solo users Teams needing only basic task tracking
The catch Full-featured for large teams, but some integrations and advanced features cost extra and the tool is more than simple teams need. Data last verified: 2026-10-14
How we make money · How we score tools
Basecamp: who it fits and who it does not Good for Freelancers, startups and small teams with simple to-do based projects Teams that want built-in communication (message boards, Campfire chat) Agencies that need to include clients as guests Large teams, thanks to flat-fee unlimited-user plan Not for Large, complex projects or Agile teams needing sprints and dependencies Teams needing Gantt charts, built-in advanced reports or detailed time tracking Organizations requiring SSO/SAML or phone/live-chat support
The catch Simple and communication-first, but deliberately light on task management (no native Gantt, dependencies or sprints) and has limited automation and reporting. Data last verified: 2026-10-14
How we make money · How we score tools
What each one costs over five years Same team size, cheapest plan of each, paid monthly or yearly.
Wrike Five years for a team of 5 , paid yearly: $3,000
On the Team plan, at today's price. We do not assume a rise.
Paid monthly, one year Not verified
Paid yearly, one year $600 "Team" has no verified monthly price Your team size
Change the number to see your own total. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Vendor pricing page · checked 2026-10-18 Basecamp Five years for a team of 5 , paid monthly: $1,500
On the Freelancer plan, at today's price. We do not assume a rise.
Paid monthly, one year $300
Paid yearly, one year Not verified "Freelancer" has no verified annual price Your team size
Change the number to see your own total. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Vendor pricing page · checked 2026-10-18 The four facts that decide it Every figure comes from the vendor's own pages, listed under Sources. Wrike Basecamp Score out of 100 95.1 50.4 Cheapest plan Team Freelancer Free plan Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated Free account: 1 project, 1 GB storage, up to 5 users Works with (apps) 11 8
Every figure comes from the vendor's own pages, listed under Sources.
Wrike
Score out of 100 95.1
Cheapest plan Team
Free plan Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated
Works with (apps) 11 Basecamp
Score out of 100 50.4
Cheapest plan Freelancer
Free plan Free account: 1 project, 1 GB storage, up to 5 users
Works with (apps) 8 Feature by feature, on the same list Open a row for the vendor's own wording and the page we read it on.
Task management Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike To-dos on all plans Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp Break goals into tasks, assign resources, attach files (Free) Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Board view (Kanban) Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike Card Table is Basecamp's Kanban take Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp Drag-and-drop Kanban board view on Free Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Timeline view (Gantt) Wrike: Not verifiedBasecamp: Yes▾
Wrike Not verified: the vendor gives no detail. Not verified Basecamp Interactive Gantt charts on Team and above Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Time tracking Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike 'Track hours/time spent working on projects' on every plan Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp Time tracking on Pinnacle Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Recurring tasks Wrike: Not verifiedBasecamp: Not verified▾
Wrike Not verified: the vendor gives no detail. Not verified
Basecamp Not verified: the vendor gives no detail. Not verified File sharing Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike Docs & Files for storing assets Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp Attach files to tasks on Free Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Invite clients or guests Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike Guests and clients are supported but count toward user limits; Studio and above have unlimited users Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp External users have limited access rights and need a paid seat Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Does routine steps for you Wrike: Not verifiedBasecamp: Yes▾
Wrike Not verified: the vendor gives no detail. Not verified Basecamp Automation rule generation on Team; integrations/automations via Wrike Integrate on Apex Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Reporting Wrike: YesBasecamp: Yes▾ Wrike Reports & Automatic Check-ins Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Basecamp Shareable dashboard on Team; advanced reporting and BI on Pinnacle Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 Mobile app Wrike: Not verifiedBasecamp: Yes▾
Wrike Not verified: the vendor gives no detail. Not verified Basecamp Web, desktop and mobile apps Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14 What you risk by starting Wrike Trial, refunds and getting your data out of Wrike.
Free trial 14-day free trial Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Card required to start No Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Refund policy Not verified Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Getting your data out Not verified Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Effort to switch away Not verified Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Basecamp Trial, refunds and getting your data out of Basecamp.
Free trial 30-day free trial Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Card required to start No Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Refund policy No general refund policy stated; annual cancellations are prorated back to the card Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Getting your data out Not verified Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Effort to switch away Not verified Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18 Where these facts come from What to do next You can leave now. Nothing here expires.
Data last verified: 2026-10-14
Found this useful? Share it with your team