Smartsheet vs Wrike: Smartsheet fits most teams of 5
Start here: Smartsheet
Operations, marketing and PMO teams managing complex cross-functional projects
Our pick for most teams
/ 100
- Price
- From $12/user/mo · $108/user/yr
- Free plan
- No free plan
vs/ 100
- Price
- From $120/user/yr (yearly only)
- Free plan
- Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated
Add more tools to this comparisonCompare a different set
Which one fits your team
- Checked 2026-10-14
- 2 sources
The score is worked out from the facts below. How we score tools. What we earn is not part of it.
Smartsheet: who it fits and who it does not
- Good for
- Operations, marketing and PMO teams managing complex cross-functional projects
- Mid-sized and enterprise companies (construction, healthcare, IT)
- Spreadsheet-comfortable teams needing more automation and control
- Not for
- Freelancers, very small teams and early-stage startups
- Sales teams (CRM work feels clunky)
- Teams wanting plug-and-play simplicity
- The catch
- Spreadsheet-style work management made for larger companies, but setup isn't intuitive and advanced automation and reports take time to learn.
Data last verified: 2026-10-14
How we make money · How we score tools
Wrike: who it fits and who it does not
- Good for
- Marketing teams, creative agencies, IT and product development teams
- Large teams needing comprehensive project management
- Not for
- Small startups and budget-conscious teams
- Freelancers and solo users
- Teams needing only basic task tracking
- The catch
- Full-featured for large teams, but some integrations and advanced features cost extra and the tool is more than simple teams need.
Data last verified: 2026-10-14
How we make money · How we score tools
What each one costs over five years
Same team size, cheapest plan of each, paid monthly or yearly.
Smartsheet
Five years for a team of 5, paid yearly: $2,700
On the Pro plan, at today's price. We do not assume a rise.
- Paid monthly, one year
- $720
- Paid yearly, one year
- $540
Paying yearly saves $180 a year (25%).
Change the number to see your own total. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Vendor pricing page · checked 2026-10-18Wrike
Five years for a team of 5, paid yearly: $3,000
On the Team plan, at today's price. We do not assume a rise.
- Paid monthly, one year
- Not verified
- Paid yearly, one year
- $600
- "Team" has no verified monthly price
Change the number to see your own total. Nothing is sent anywhere.
Vendor pricing page · checked 2026-10-18The four facts that decide it
Every figure comes from the vendor's own pages, listed under Sources. | Smartsheet | Wrike |
|---|
| Score out of 100 | 75.3 | 65.1 |
|---|
| Cheapest plan | Pro | Team |
|---|
| Free plan | No free plan | Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated |
|---|
| Works with (apps) | 9 | 11 |
|---|
Every figure comes from the vendor's own pages, listed under Sources.
Smartsheet
- Score out of 100
- 75.3
- Cheapest plan
- Pro
- Free plan
- No free plan
- Works with (apps)
- 9
Wrike
- Score out of 100
- 65.1
- Cheapest plan
- Team
- Free plan
- Free plan with essential task management; limits not stated
- Works with (apps)
- 11
Feature by feature, on the same list
Open a row for the vendor's own wording and the page we read it on.
Task managementSmartsheet: Not verifiedWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Not verified: the vendor gives no detail.
Not verified- Wrike
- Break goals into tasks, assign resources, attach files (Free)
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Board view (Kanban)Smartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Card view as a digital Kanban board on all plans
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Drag-and-drop Kanban board view on Free
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Timeline view (Gantt)Smartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Gantt view on all plans
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Interactive Gantt charts on Team and above
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Time trackingSmartsheet: Not verifiedWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Not verified: the vendor gives no detail.
Not verified- Wrike
- Time tracking on Pinnacle
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Recurring tasksSmartsheet: Not verifiedWrike: Not verified▾
- Smartsheet
- Not verified: the vendor gives no detail.
Not verified- Wrike
- Not verified: the vendor gives no detail.
Not verified
File sharingSmartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- File library: 20GB Pro, 1TB Business, unlimited Enterprise
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Attach files to tasks on Free
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Invite clients or guestsSmartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Unlimited guests on Business and above; not on Pro
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- External users have limited access rights and need a paid seat
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Does routine steps for youSmartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- 250 triggers/month on Pro; unlimited on Business and above
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Automation rule generation on Team; integrations/automations via Wrike Integrate on Apex
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
ReportingSmartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Dashboards and reports on all plans (Pro limited to 10 widgets and 1 sheet per report)
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Shareable dashboard on Team; advanced reporting and BI on Pinnacle
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
Mobile appSmartsheet: YesWrike: Yes▾
- Smartsheet
- Android and iOS apps on all plans
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14- Wrike
- Web, desktop and mobile apps
Vendor page · checked 2026-10-14
What you risk by starting
Smartsheet
Trial, refunds and getting your data out of Smartsheet.
- Free trial
- 30-day free trial
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Card required to start
- No
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Refund policy
- Not verified
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Getting your data out
- Sheets and reports can be exported to Excel and Google Sheets on all plans
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Effort to switch away
- Not verified
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
Wrike
Trial, refunds and getting your data out of Wrike.
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Card required to start
- No
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Refund policy
- Not verified
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Getting your data out
- Not verified
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
- Effort to switch away
- Not verified
- Vendor page · checked 2026-10-18
Where these facts come from
What to do next
You can leave now. Nothing here expires.
Data last verified: 2026-10-14